fbpx

Russian Film Club

*** WATCH PARTY LINK UPDATED DAY OF ***

Welcome to the Russian Film Club – the place for everyone who enjoys Russian and Soviet cinema! Please check for event updates below.

Basically, we watch great Russian and Soviet movies together every Sunday at: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 5pm London, 6pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi.

Here’s the schedule:

  • Sunday November 1st, 2020 – Ten Little Indians (1987)
  • Sunday October 25th, 2020 – Cheburashka Ep. 2 (1972) and Andrei Rublev (1966)
  • Sunday October 18th, 2020 – Cheburashka Ep. 1 (1969) and Teens in the Universe (1975)
  • Sunday October 11th, 2020 – Hedgehog in the Fog (1975) and Tale of Tales (1979)
  • Sunday October 4th, 2020 – The Island (2006)

Other ways to keep up to date:

Russian Film Club Watch Parties

Sunday November 1st, 2020 – A spooky Halloween special!

Ten Little Indians Russian Film Adaptation of Agatha Christie Story

Ten Little Indians (1987)

To celebrate Halloween and all things spooky, we’ll be enjoying Ten Little Indians, a disturbing psychological thriller. Based on the novel by the incomparable English writer, Agatha Christie, this Soviet film adaptation tells the story of ten strangers who gather for a dinner party. The thing is, none of them know who invited them and now they’re all stuck on an isolated island with nowhere to go except for into their dark pasts.

The watch party will take place this Sunday at the following time: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 6pm London, 7pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi. Subtitles will be in English.


Sunday October 25th, 2020

Andrei Rublev Crocodile Gena Scene

Cheburashka Ep. 2 (1972) and Andrei Rublev (1966)

This Sunday we continue the Cheburashka series, enjoying the second episode that includes the famous Crocodile Gena birthday song. After that we’ll move on to Andrei Rublev, Andrei Tarkovsky’s sublime arthouse biopic about the great Russian icon painter. The Cheburashka episode will last 20 minutes and Andrei Rublev is 3 hours long. Feel free to join us for as much time as you can spare. Both of these works are real treats, though I do understand that Andrei Rublev might be a little long for some!

The watch party will take place this Sunday at the following time: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 5pm London, 6pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi.

Subtitles will be in: English, Spanish, and Russian for Cheburashka; English for Andrei Rublev. You will be able to select the subtitles you wish.

Sunday October 18th, 2020

Teens in the Universe Russian Sci-Fi Film

Cheburashka Ep. 1 (1969) and Teens in the Universe (1975)

This Sunday we have a fun double bill featuring a beloved Soviet animation and a a family-friendly sci-fi classic. We’ll be watching the first episode of Cheburashka and then Teens in the Universe. The Cheburashka episode will last 20 minutes and Teens in the Universe is 1 hour 20 minutes long. All in, the watch party will last about 1 hour 40 minutes, though please stay as long as you like. Look forward to you joining us.

The watch party will take place this Sunday at the following time: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 6pm London, 7pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi.

Subtitles will be in: English, Spanish, and Russian for Cheburashka; English, Spanish, French, and Russian Teens in the Universe. You will be able to select the subtitles you wish.

Sunday October 11th, 2020

Hedgehog in the Fog (1975) and Tale of Tales (1979)

This Sunday we have a special double bill featuring two exquisite works by master animator, Yuri Norstein. We’ll be watching Hedgehog in the Fog and Tale of Tales. All in, the screenings should take about 45 minutes. Please join us!

The watch party will take place this Sunday at the following time: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 6pm London, 7pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi.

Subtitles will be in: English, French, Italian, and Spanish for Hedgehog in the Fog; English and Italian for Tale of Tales. You will be able to select the subtitles you wish.

Sunday October 4th, 2020

The Island 2006 Russian movie backdrop

The Island (2006)

We’ll be watching The Island | Остров (2006), a superb film about a unique, bizarre monk living in an Orthodox monastery in the north of Russia.

The watch party will take place this Sunday at the following time: 10am Los Angeles, 1pm New York, 2pm Buenos Aires, 6pm London, 7pm Berlin, 8pm Moscow, 10:30pm New Delhi.

Subtitles will be in: English, Arabic, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. You will be able to select the subtitles you wish.